Any interests on making your vehicle handle better?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Not That Bob

Reaction score
Most of my background is racing, so I look at vehicles with racers eyes. 

Not to brag, maybe a little, I have help build a class winner in SCCA, built/drove road rally, built/drove drag cars and was crew chief for a blown alcohol FED.

Now I don't expect to turn my S10 into a road rally 4x4 camper but the same principles apply.

So if there is interest, I can explain some of basics to help make your trip down the road safer.

Let me know.

So next week  we can take our old vans on a can am track.  :huh:

I think the basics are all the same no matter what your driving when it comes to handling. Weight bias, spring rates, dampers, ride height, bushing materials, tire size. unladen weight vs laden weight, etc etc etc....

Id love to try this one day if I ever make it back to Japan: To wrestle a 5000lb van around a race track at pants-soiling speeds? Count me in!!!!!
[img=318x162]http://www.web2carz.com/images/articles/201507/dvan_gp_1437065694_615x314.jpg[/img]

My background is road racing superbikes back when GP500 still meant two stroke square 4 death machines and BOTT races still meant 1000cc V twins.

The principles are the same, but do the parts exist to do it? For example, I'd like less sway in my 3/4 ton van, but does anyone make beefier sway bars?

MrNoodly said:
The principles are the same, but do the parts exist to do it? For example, I'd like less sway in my 3/4 ton van, but does anyone make beefier sway bars?

I am interested I am beefing up my 1993 ford e 150

Attachments

• PICT0894.JPG
    PICT0894.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 6
Many Vans that become dwelled in, are older with tired springs and worn shocks barely adequate for an empty van, and then, they are overloaded.