All-Hazard Weather Alert Radio - Outdated or still Useful?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

frwent89

Reaction score
Hi eveyone, I am relatively new to van life, so I am slowly fitting my E350 with all necessary gadgets and conveniences. I accidentally stumbled upon this All-Hazard Weather Alert Radio by Midland and couldn't figure out how does it really work. Looks like a regular radio, but with additional display to show text warning. I assume it's something outdated (because we have everything in our smartphnones), but is it anyhow useful today?

The description doesn't specify whether it is ac or battery operated. There are several varieties of these and I have a battery operated one that I have connected to an 11' antenna that will pull in a signal pretty good - well beyond cell range.

The utility will vary on your boondocking style. I like extended backcountry stays and as such is an essential.

My smartphone said the chance of precipitation was 10%. A few hours later, a huge thunderstorm came through.

Always travel with a dedicated weather radio!

cell phones don't work everywhere, but neither do weather radios. however weather radios have much greater coverage than cell phones. I would rely on the weather radios more than a cell phone. another point the weather radio broadcast come straight from NOAA all these other weather apps are second hand info. highdesertranger