4x4 conversion

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kyuubs

Reaction score
Ref thread:&nbsp;https://vanlivingforum.com/post/A-long-awaited-hello-6212620<br><br><br>Thats what I picked up, its a '10 (approx) wheelbase dually RWD van. &nbsp;I want to be able to get out into some remote BLM/Mining/Nat forest trails with it. &nbsp;I have no experience in the west coast driving offroad, but I know I would&nbsp;definitely&nbsp;need it in the east coast (mud and whatnot). &nbsp;Does anyone have experience taking their home on offroad trails in the west/converting a chevy base from IFS to solid axle 4wd? &nbsp;I would like some advice on this one, because I used to drive jeeps and hate getting stuck unprepaired, and I've no doubt I will be driving my truck on the unbeaten path.

&nbsp;It would be cheaper and far easier to stick in a locking rearend instead.. unless it already has one. Posi can make it alllllmost as good as a 4x4. ..Willy.

willy is right on again.&nbsp; a dually with with a locker or posi will go almost anywhere a 4x4 can go(emphasis on almost) just&nbsp;watch your ground clearance high center will get you stuck 4x4 or not.&nbsp; the best of both worlds is an air locker.&nbsp; highdesertranger

&nbsp;Years ago I had an old Hunter green '67 IH 1/2 ton pickup truck that I sold to a friend for $200. It had a posi rearend (that was all) and he took that heavy beast all over in the mountains. He pulled more than a few 'stuck' 4x4's outta the mud; they laughed when they saw him coming, but shut up right quick when he yanked them out and kept on goin'. ..Willy.