$1k in front end work, bought the van last month.

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TMG51

Reaction score
So the van is a '99, and I expected to spend money on suspension at some point. But I also expected the van to pass inspection when I bought it, which is why I told the dealer to get a current inspection before I'd buy it. The dealer didn't do in house inspections (why not?) but got a sticker put on it somehow.

I bought it in NH. I'm a VT resident, so I needed a VT inspection with my registration.

I took it to a garage this morning and they wouldn't put a sticker anywhere near it. They gave me a ~$1k estimate for front end work. Ball joints, drag link, alignment, etc. They said no one should have inspected it and they were even suspicious of the NH sticker itself, which reads simply "dealer lot vehicle" or such. I expected the dealer not to give a shit, but I called anyway to get his reaction. He didn't give a shit.

NH DMV's site says "Licensed retail dealers are required to sell vehicles that meet minimum state inspection criteria." I quoted that to the dealer and he said it was wrong. Yet he claimed he had no trouble getting it inspected. He would not give me the name of the business that inspected the van.

All in all - I'm not really upset. I expected to put money into the van, and especially the suspension, sooner or later. I just had hoped for later, and that the inspection was actually legit before I bought the van! I'm going to try to get a VT sticker on it so it's legal and then I'll have a little more time to get the mechanical work done. I may be able to do it myself if I find a place and the time.

If anyone is curious the business is Mastriano Motors on Salem NH.