How do you make money?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonhash

Reaction score
I just want to know the process you make money for living and traveling with VAN. Don't worry, I am not going to steal your ideas... :p

I'm an editor for a small book publishing company, and do my work on the road over wifi.

Though when people ask me how I make money on the road, I usually reply that I rob gas stations. That always sparks a conversation.

Selling on eBay currently. But I'm partially disabled, so pending disability as well.

P.S. - Feel free to steal my ideas.  :p

I gamble in the stock market.

Takes a bit of work.  I probably spend four hours a day reading reports and listening to conference calls, digging around for research, almost exclusively in biotech stocks.  Sometimes I still get things wrong but overall it has been pretty good.   I started it in 2014.  2014 gain was 32%, 2015 gain was 8%, 2016 gain was 41%, 2017 gain was 130% (thanks Endocyte!) and 2018 so far am up 80%.

Not recommended for those with heart conditions.   Sometimes I am down thousands of dollars on a investment only to be up thousands the next day.  Biotech is crazy that way.

I'm retired and Canadian so I have to spend 6 months of the year here in Canada to be able to continue to collect all of my government bennies.

Soooo, I work a summer job for 4 1/2 months.

I had to go  in to debt to help one of my children out so I'm putting every penny of my paychecks into paying off that debt. Then, maybe, I can retire again full time... :D

Having a self-contained camper puts me in the lead for a lot of seasonal tourist area jobs because most all of the tourist areas have housing crunches going on. Where I am now several of the seasonal workers are living in tents (difficult when you're working) because there simply is no housing available at any price let alone affordable.