Step Van Mobile Muralist Studio

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HerrSuite

Reaction score
Hi all! I'm working on a step van, and I've landed here as close a place to 'my people' I can find. My project is a little unusual - not trying to build a space to live but a space to work. I'm a full-time muralist, and the goal is a mobile studio that I can work inside of to do design work, then take to a job site and work out of like a work truck to paint murals. My sights are set on 'simple' and 'functional'. 

Okay, so I'm 5 months into wrestling with this project, and I'd love to share and get some feedback. I've never done any vehicle work before at all, and have very minimal building experience. I've been detailing my whole process on my blog (see signature, or go to the first post about the step van itself), but I'll put the highlights up here. I've also posted them on skoolie.net, if any of y'all are on both ::)

20' long 1993 GMC Grumman Olsen P-35 Step-Van
IMG_3688.jpg

IMG_3696.jpg

IMG_3690.jpg

• 4,000 lbs. empty
  • 253,000 original miles
  • 8-cylinder 350 engine (the second in it)
  • 20' from bumper to bumper, 11'2" ground to roof, 6'11" wide
  • 6'10" tall and wide on the inside, 12' cargo space
  • garage-style door and double rear wheels (boo)
  • radio, a/c, heat
  • 1 door (passenger side)
  • broken gas gauge
  • chipped front windshield, 1 cracked side mirror
  • brand new front tires
  • Needed work on the steering column, rear axle and brakes, and exhaust system in order to pass state inspection.