Recommendations for Solar Power?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

garlicbread

Reaction score
I'm new to this and don't know much about using solar panels. I just need a small amount, enough for the AC (which uses 7.5 watts), my laptop, and occasionally charging my phone or tablet. Would a 60 watt solar panel be enough? Or would I need 100? If possible I would really prefer to keep it inside the car, on the dashboard maybe. I'm concerned about whether I could even fit one in there. I have a hatchback so I can't use the back window.

I've never used a solar panel before and I want to know what I'm getting into before I order one. I know I need a battery with it. What's confusing to me is that I'm not sure about compatibility between the panel and battery, whether they need to have the same watts and volts or if there's some formula.

Another issue is that I read using the wrong amount of power with a laptop can actually damage it. I don't know exactly how much my specific laptop needs. How can I make sure I'm not going to damage it (or my other electronics) with my solar-battery system?

I want to add, if powering the laptop takes too much it might not be worth it for me. But I at least need something to power the portable air conditioner (for my pet). I read that it uses 7.5 watts and is powered through a USB cable. Is there a simple setup anyone would recommend for this?

You need to figure out how much wattage you are going to use. Is that 7.5 watts continuous? How much power does power does your Phone and laptop need to operate?

That 7.5 watts doesn't sound right.