Near a new beginning

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

picopat

Reaction score
Hi! My name is Patrick, I’m a tinkerer and engineer at heart and soon-to-be full time van dweller!
I’m mid-career, married, no kids, and in late October 2016 I was browsing Reddit and happened across a video about a couple in their early thirties that had been traveling the world and living out of a van for the last 8 years.

I was blown away. How the hell did they do it?

I’ve always wanted the freedom to explore the world but freedom costs both time and money. When I was younger and had plenty of time but no money. Now that I’m in my 40s I found I had some money but so many commitments and added responsibility that I could never find the time. It seemed like a cruel joke that I just caught on to. Like most people, I looked for ways to maximize comfort while I waited for retirement to achieve freedom. This couple broke the rules and found a different way.

I shared the video with my wife and started doing research. Bob’s site was one of the first (and best) resources I found. We read a lot, watched a lot of videos, and spent hours discussing the pros and cons, and our hopes and fears. I believe, for us, it came down to honestly identifying the things we were most afraid of and either coming up with ways to mitigate them or just to deal with them head on. After a few months of consideration we finally made a decision to go for it.