I bought my van!

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sheena

Reaction score
Hey y'all.

Sheena here. Just here to introduce myself. I'm a Designer and Artist soon to be van dweller. Raised in the Northwest, I spent a few years in the deep South too and I currently lay my head down in New England. I have two dogs that are my family and best friends. I spend a lot of time camping, backpacking and I generally enjoy doing things out of doors. I recently started riding a motorcycle (1974 Yamaha RD250) and I love it too. Van dwelling feels like a good fit for me. 

I started looking at building a tiny house or living in an RV about a year ago. Mostly just reading a lot about it. I decided to go with van living as it best suits my current needs. Currently, I'm getting rid of material things, paying down debt and doing lot's of reading on the matter. I just bought my van yesterday, rather impulsively so I guess research continues but the ball is motion. I'll be working on making a few improvements to my van before I jump in. I'm here to learn and share. I'm so excited to join y'all.

Things I'm excited about:
The prospect of living smaller
Learning - I love taking on new challenges
Being more sustainable
Seeing my friends all over the country
Cooking in my van - This is just the most fun thing to me!
Having time for focusing on self-improvement and creativity
Travel and stillness
Joining and helping to build a creative community with like-minded people (but pleasantly individually unique!) 

Fears/Apprehensions 
My dogs - keeping them safe and giving them a high quality of life
Van maintenance - I'm no mechanic
General safety - I'm practically fearless. This is not always safe. Taking risks isn't bad, but I want to be smart. 

The Van:
Dodge Ram
Xplorer Camper van
Drives like a dream
Low miles - 51,000
Interior is excellent condition