House battery in the engine

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Theadyn

Reaction score
Let me warn..  I am no mechanic.   :dodgy:    I need the wisdom of you good people.

Does anyone have their house battery under the hood of their engine?   I have a space that appears to be made for a battery, and was told that is where the extra battery would be had my motor been a diesel.  Since it is a gas engine, I see a perfectly unused space that is not being put to good use.

Is it possible, or does anyone do this themselves, to install a house battery there and set it up to charge off the alternator while the motor is running.   My needs will be small, and I will be driving...  a lot.

My needs may be for cell phone charging, laptop charging and/or dvd's in the evening, kindle charging, etc.  No fridge or heavy use electric needs, I'm trying to go for simple.  I had planned, for now, to charge those things while driving through the dash cigarette lighter.  But with this discovery of space, wondered if this would be a better solution. 

With my meager knowledge of motors and electricity, I wasn't able to search much, probably because I am limited and the 'HOW' to search for it, not asking the right questions.  My limited findings, thus far, are to mount a deep cycle marine battery and run a continuous duty 12v DC solenoid to charge from the alternator.  I think, haha.  Would of course have to have someone else set this up. 

Anyone done this or is doing this now?  Advice?

Lots of older RV's had their battery in the engine, it was a well ventilated area for them. If you have the room, give it a shot, but be warned that batteries are heavy, and may affect the sway of the vehicle!

Lots of light trucks have the auxiliary battery under the hood to power plows, hoists, campers. Some/most of them are wired through a solenoid or isolater at the factory.