Hi everyone

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skydivedad

Reaction score
I'm a Service Connected Disabled Veteran of the Vietnam Era. Never sent to "Nam" many of us did duty in Europe or were other types of "Cold Warriors". I got injured pretty bad in a training accident in the late 1970's. I worked hard at rehab and used my GI Bill to pay for College. At first I didn't finish college as a new wife and child cme along instead. It was a short marriage ending in divorce. I got lucky and became a Trader in the Markets making great money on short hours! 

This allowed me to pursue my 1st love in life (other than being a Dad) Skydiving, something I picked up in the Military. Skydiving is way different then Military Jumping and I absolutely pursued it with vigor. It's an incribly difficult skill falling out of the sky while maintaining relativity with fellow jumpers as we perform different formations. And Headdown Skydiving is sort of the pinnacle of the sport with speeds in excess of 200mph. (You've no friends at 200mph) Anyway, I got relly involved with the sport and got my 1st taste of Van Life! I purchsed a Ford Econ Conversion Van that was previously owned by staff at Chicagoland Skydiving. I spent almost 3 years living in that van along with a new wife and a couple of kids under 3 years old. I'd work at various dropzones up north and then head to South Florida with the van (Z-Hills, Deland, Pahokee, etc...) as a rigger or flew "meat on a hook" as a Tandem Instructor for tourist looking to make a 1st jump.