Generator + Battery Bank?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ExploringOne

Reaction score
So, I’m looking at doing a few weeks at a time in my travel trailer.

I had thought about doing solar, and I may eventually. However, I found a 30 amp 4000 starting watt generator, with 3500 running watts for $300. It runs on dual fuel (propane and gas), so I jumped on the deal shortly after I purchased the camper.

Now, I’m no electrician, and I’m kind of looking for advise from someone who would know. I’ve scoured the board and searched the internet, I’m not coming up with much that makes sense to me.

I currently have 1 12 V car battery on my travel trailer. It does “okay” for what it needs to run, but of course I want more.  :cool:

Here are my thoughts, someone correct me if I’m looking at this incorrectly.

I’ve seen some of the 100-200 watt solar kits... I think 200 watts would probably be plenty, especially if I have a battery bank. I’m currently thinking of getting some Duracell 6V 215 amp hour batteries from Batteries Plus as they’re $99 each.

I’m currently thinking I can run 2 batteries in series and have plenty of juice to run what I need to run after night fall. (Would charge the batteries from shore/generator power.)

Now, this is where I hav questions:

1) I’m going to need a charge controller, so I don’t overcharge the batteries. Correct?
2) I’m going to need some kind of inverter, so I can run appliances off the batteries. Correct?
3) Will I need an automatic transfer switch?
4) Can I charge the batteries off the generator? I’ve read that it can be done, but you need to get the correct hardware/gear.
5) Am I over thinking this? I feel like since I already have $300 generator, I should just install a battery bank, inverter, charge controller sans the solar to save a few bucks.

So far you are just guessing. here's what you need to do,