Establishing residency. Buying a rig. Or opposite?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikEXpat

Reaction score
I will move back to the states after being gone for almost 20 years. I was a California resident, probably still am. I'd like to establish residency in another state, maybe Nevada. I won't have a vehicle when I arrive but I will have a place to stay in Southern California. I can probably borrow a family car. I wanna find a rig and get on the road as soon as possible.

Here's my question: How can I buy a vehicle and register it in Nevada if I buy it,say, in Arizona? For example, if I find the perfect van for me in Idaho, fly there from overseas, buy it, drive it to Nevada, can I register it there in Nevada? What would I have to do to get me registered and a resident as quickly as possible?

I know I could buy a cheap van and live in it at an RV park in Nevada for 30 days, Then, I would get my driver's license and new plates. Then sell the car and buy a new one. Is that my only option?

Thanks in advance!

Your post seems to be ready to slip off the "View Today's Posts" pages with no reply.

I don't know that I can be much help because this is a complicated question. I believe if you buy from a dealer and explain you need to register in another state, they can give you temporary plate, etc.

Surely a few folks on the forum have done what you plan, so maybe my reply will kick the question back up for more to see.

Yes. I can see this as a problem for anyone without a car and wants to move far away from where they are now.