Women Only: Completely Clueless Question about Trailers

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

emelep

Reaction score
Hi, all.  I am just dreaming, not actually wandering, yet.

I have been making plans in my head that started with Tiny Houses, Moved to RV, then Teardrop/small trailer, then Van, Then Prius, Up to Truck Bed, and currently I am on SUV.  So, it's lucky this is all just dreams... otherwise I would be in trouble. :)

I have no experience but am extremely curious about the whole "Trailer Thing" -- What in the world do you do with it when you are in a city? Where do you park?  Obviously it is not STEALTH... but possibly it is if you decouple and stay in it at the back of a chain mall?  

Are there any good videos that talk people through what to DO with the trailer when you aren't boondocking?  It seems confusing and difficult to me... so I am currently at "SUV" because it's all one piece and I would know how to be sneaky... I think.

This is obviously low priority since these are just my daydreams for now.  Thanks to anyone who takes the time to look at this!

E

There are lots of videos from youtubers who have oversized RVs and trailers where they go and visit in a city for the day.

As to your question about decoupling a trailer and leaving it behind a mall. Those malls hire security firms to patrol at night time. There is no stealthy hiding out from them.

Welcome to the CRVL forums emelep! A small RV or van is better than a trailer if you're planning on visiting or staying overnight in cities. However if you do decide to go with a trailer the easiest places to park overnight are at Walmarts and other big box stores that have large parking lots. Uncoupling is not a good idea. You want to look like you are just passing through.