What kind of vehicle would YOU recommend?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greenwink

Reaction score
Hiya! I live in the US. I'm a newbie here & am still in the researching of vehicle phase. I'm open to any options that are close to what I need. If I have to, I'll demo the bed down to the frame & rebuild from there - my son's a welder, so lot's of options there. What I'm mainly looking for right now are options on size, ground clearance, cab, & engine. I'm going to want to mainly boondock, with the occasional hookup. I also want to be as self-sustainable as possible. This is what I'm looking for:

Engine: 
1. Either unleaded or diesel. Diesel would be converted to biodiesel. Also, be able to keep up with minimum hwy speed.
2. Mechanically reliable.
3. Can repair & maintain on my own without huge or heavy extra equipment; parts not too hard to find.
3. Standard or stick is fine.

Cab:
1. I'm 6"1', so lots of leg & head room.
2. Large windows with a good view of the road for safety's sake. Maybe the engine in the back for the same reason. This is preferable, but not a game changer.

Misc.:
1. The whole vehicle should be 20' - 40' long, including cab.
2. Close to, but no more than 8' wide. Want to be legal on the road without permits.
3. Good for boondocking, but won't be doing serious off-roading.
4. Want to build slide-outs and/or fold-out room extensions on both sides.
5. Don't know if this matters or not, but I'm looking to keep the whole thing to 13' high.

I probably left things out you'd like to know. I'm interested to see what any of you'd recommend either to look into or stay away from.

Thanks,
Sonja

couple of points,

newer diesels don't like bio-diesel. also if you plan on boondocking where are you going to get the bio from.