Van Conversion Cost

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SunDance57

Reaction score
Hi VanDwellers,

I have a question, I bet it has already been covered in a thread somewhere. But here goes.

What does it cost to convert a van into a simple camper. What I would like is:

paneling and insulation
bed
a cupboard where I could put my camp stove (already have it)
a cabinet
Led lights wiring (1 or 2)

I could price the below out.
Simple fridge (110? I do not know what it runs on yet)
100W solar panel and wiring
1 12v house battery
maybe a plastic shelf stack
portable toilet

Did I miss a major item?

A wild ass guess is good enough for me.  Really, just a ball park so I can figure out a budget.

Why? I have been camping out of my truck for many years for short trips. Now I want extended trips with a bit more comfort for me.

I am asking you for 2 reasons.

I have a fixed amount of cash (maybe 15K max, but 10K would be better). I would like to buy as good as a van as possible and skimp somewhat on the comfort items.

I have also looked at some ads for already older converted vans with simple plans as listed above within my price range. By looking at Kelley blue book it seems people are pricing their conversions at about 5K to 6K above KBB. Seems little high to me, but I bet the labor is big. Is that right? The vans seem to have lots of mileage on them.  A converted van would be great for me so I could just customize it, and I never converted one before.

Looking forward to desert camping this winter.

Thanks,
Michael

Minimum 2500? That is a wild guess! But, it includes an AC D.C. Fridge and they are 600+ maybe less, but you asked for wild.

less then 2000.

For me what I added to my astrovan
240 watt panel (bought on craiglist 200 dollars)
ecoworthy 20 amp mppt controller (ebay 100 dollars)
wires/connectors to hook everything up maybe 50 dollars