Troubleshoot battery system

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elderblaze

Reaction score
Hey guys, I came to this community because I feel like you may have more experience with these types of problems, but I am actually a locksmith and was trying to troubleshoot the electrical system in my work van. Let me explain what I have, and what is going on.

2015 Ford Transit

Starter battery  > CTEK 250SA > House battery (Renogy 100 AH, AGM) > Inverter > Power Strip > electronics.

10 Gauge wire from starter to CTEK as per recommended instructions, all positive connections to and from the battery and inverter are fused where appropriate. 00 Gauge wire used aprox 3 ft from battery to inverter, and 3 ft from battery to chasis ground (negative). All connections are secure. Battery is 10 months old, as is the rest of the equipment. The CTEK device is a DC to DC Charger for those who don't know, and the 10 Gauge wire is appropriate as it pulls 20 amp max from the starter battery. It's a smart device that has multiple stages and is designed to boost or buck the voltage/current for AGM batteries. The Inverter is a 2000 watt pure sinewave Xantrex Prowatt 2000

I set all this up about a year ago, bought all the equipment at the same time and it worked wonderful, when I first set it up, I could run all my battery chargers, 2 key machines, my laptop, laser printer, etc all at the same time without tripping any current overload or fuses, and without any blinking lights or any such oddities. It ran like a champ.