Tips for Cutting Your Own Hair?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
signman said:
Any one else had any experience with a Flo-Be, hair cutting outfit that uses a vacuum cleaner ?
My 1 time use, it tangled and pulled and got stuck in my hair, very bad experience. Could have done better with a dull hatchet.    Duane

As a stylist I've not used it, but I've corrected LOTS of those cuts! Haha ?

TrainChaser said:
Oh, just ask some woman in camp to do it for you.  TIP:  go with the woman who is quietly confident, and NOT the eager one with the evil grin.

It just so happens that I'm borderline "quietly" confident, but also have an evil grin. Does that count? Hehe

anewbiewannabe said:
Speaking of longer hair, anyone have tips for cutting longer hair off a few inches in a nomad situation? Especially for someone who can't keep her arms up for a long period?

You can put it in a pony tail then trim the ends. How high, or low will depend on how short you want it.

Solitary Spell said:
Suanne, someone I met recently said she does the same thing. Question: it looks like the model in this photo series cut the hair perfectly straight and then points the scissors directly into the end and snips for the layering? Is that what you do?? Thanks for the post!

You would cut it straight across first, and then "point cut"as you see in the pic. This just breaks up the weight at the ends, and adds texture.

Headache said: