Tax Free States & Residency

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toulouse

Reaction score
I am a newbie .....I looked through all of the forum topics and so hope this forum topic is the right spot for my post 

I am a camper van person and not yet full-time but I am VERY interested in changing my address to a state with no state/local taxes.   I see the popular ones like FL, AZ & SD and the companies that offer mail services for full timers in these states.   I currently have a lot of family in New England which would make getting licenses renewed and registrations etc.   Due to proximity to family I would like to have a state like NH as my home address but have not seen any mail services for this state.   

Can someone offer my any insight as to why this is and how to get a "legal" address in NH if nobody operates a mail service there.   Thanks in advance!!

State income taxes are only an issue if you make above a certain level annually. And I don't think any state taxes Social Security (if you happen to be receiving that.)

IMHO South Dakota is the best place, fast drivers license,voter registation, no class no test concealed weapon permit, low insurance rates, 6% sales tax, a very good mail forwarding service & no state tax. Google it as there are lots of sites.

How often do you have to go back to south dakota to update arrangements?

MrNoodly said:
State income taxes are only an issue if you make above a certain level annually. And I don't think any state taxes Social Security (if you happen to be receiving that.)
The are currently 12 states that do tax SS.

Sent from my SM-J727V using Tapatalk

geogentry said:
The are currently 12 states that do tax SS.

Sent from my SM-J727V using Tapatalk

No matter what state you are in self employment taxes will bite ya.