Please be respectful

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LERCA

Reaction score
Getting very tired of reading judgmental posts. We are not all greedy capitalist drones caught on a hamster wheel of consumerism. I started living a minimalist lifestyle before any magazines about it and YouTube videos. I was a freak who didn’t have a tv, I read books.

In 1986 credit cards were just becoming available for regular people. When I graduated college in 1985 ( without any debt I worked full-time and went to school full- time and lived at home while attending a state school) there were no discount stores like Marshalls and I couldn’t get a credit card to buy an outfit for job interviews. I decided that buying just to buy was empty and that I’d need that money when I retired. God help me I didn’t know how bad my health would get beginning in my 30’s. I never earned much as a teacher and some summers didn’t have enough money for food but that was because I always put money into my retirement funds ( which have grown exponentially over 30 years) And no, I didn’t lose much in 2007-2008. I have a nice nest egg that I can use when I turn 59 1/2.