Non van owner, but looking

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AllanA

Reaction score
Hello all,

Hope all is doing as well as can be expected during these times.  I'm a noob here, haven't even been lurking around   :D

I'm starting to look around for a van and thought I'd float a few questions with people in the know  ;)  I started to develop my questionnaire here, but thought better of the that, and I'll just post up a link to my questionnaire, once submitted.

Oh my past experience with a van was that I had at one time a German spec'd '71 Westfalia.  Lets not bring this van up as I lost it when the city came by and towed it away.  They said that it was because of "abandonment".  I looked to see what they considered "abandonment" and it was 3 parking tickets in a row on street sweeping days.  I had two tickets in a row and another one after a week of missing.  It wasn't 3 in a row.  Anyways I was new to the city life in Long Beach and wasn't used to street sweeping days.  They ended up digging up all kinds of parking tickets I had.  The biggest one was some kind of red zone that was well over 1k in price.  They dug up tickets from cities >400 miles away.  I didn't have their total and just gave up the van.

That van had a nice lay out with many accessories.  Had a bench seat with the spare under the middle passenger.  Had a two-way frig with room for 4 adults and two kids over the front seat area.  Plus I had the big tent that went with the van.  I know nowadays that van setup would fetch a nice sum, but............  That year had a nice motor that could be taken out and swapped in less than 2 hrs, so they say.  Oh also the first year with discs up front.

So looking for a new chapter in the van life.  The link will follow on my questions.

Thanks for reading and I wish you the best.