New idea for using a motorcycle/trailer.

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metalartist

Reaction score
Hi Nomads,  

So I just recently joined and I mentioned that I was going to build a traveler pulled by my e-bike.  I’m thinking instead of using a bike I’d use a motorcycle instead.  As I have been doing research about ways of getting around with my bike I’ve discovered there are areas of the country I would be cut off from simply for the fact of unsafe highways for a bicycle.  Having said that riding a motorcycle you definitely need to keep your wits about you.  Anyways, motorcycles are incredible cheap to maintain as well as the cost and saving money is always a good thing when you can.  So, using a motorcycle trailer would definitely increase what I can carry. As a metal artist I definitely need all my tools.  I would still keep my bicycle of course.  I absolutely love my bike!  Anyways, what do you think of this idea?  I would very much like your thoughts as well as any of your ideas on building this setup.  Also, if you could recommend some motorcycles that would work well with a set up like this would be welcomed?  Also, riding a motorcycle would be a new experience for me.  I do plan on take classes though.  

Thank you Nomads!  ❤️

I know of no one who is doing it on a motorcycle full time. That said, I have a friend who has a small popup camper he pulls behind his Goldwing motorcycle and has camped all over the country. I know he goes to Sturgis South Dakota every year for bike week there. In the summer he practically lives on or in it. But he is a sticks and bricks guy so it is only in the summer. I know if you are going to pull his popup you would need a fairly large bike!!!!

I've seen/heard of folk doing lengthy trips on motorcycles, but I'm sure they were happy "campers" to return home.