New and confused about RVs

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RayAngel

Reaction score
Howdy folks! I'm a truck driver looking to buy some kind of RV to live in when I'm off work. The plan is to park it in a friend's back yard so it needs to be small. Also I drive a Ford Fusion and hope I can find something light enough that it'll pull it.

As for my personal needs... I want a twin size bed and a desk large enough for a laptop. I plan to do some music recording so I'll need enough space to play a guitar. I'm 6 feet 2 inches and would like to stand up inside. I don't need a bathroom/shower or anything for cooking. As a trucker I've got all that figured out already. 

I got out some chalk and drew a 7x8 foot rectangle on the ground and I could do all I need in that space but having a little more would be nice.

So any ideas or advice is welcomed because I don't know the first thing about RVs.

Thanks so much. Stay cool, peace out and don't trust the establishment.

Welcome to the CRVL forums! To help you learn the ins and outs of these forums, this "Tips, Tricks and Rules" post lists some helpful information to get you started.

Most of our rules boil down to two simple over-riding principles: 1) What you post should provide good information (like your introductory post), and 2) Any response to someone else's post should make them feel glad they are part of this forum community.

We look forward to hearing more from you.

With your tow vehicle and its lack of serious towing ability, and not needing a full bath or cooking facilities, it sounds like you need to look at a very small cargo/camping trailer that you can pull anywhere. Think of it as the sleeper berth from your truck, removed and put on wheels.

Here's a place to start:

https://www.runawaycampers.com