MINIVAN- ROOF FAN

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cyntmac

Reaction score
[font=verdana, arial, helvetica, sans-serif]I want to convert a Toyota Sienna or possibly a Honda Odyssey. I will live in it for a minimum of 3 months. I want a roof fan such as a fantastic fan but don't know if this is possible. Stealth is important - I don't want it in the window. I wish to buy a minivan no more than 8 years old. I am aware some have a sun roof but is that the only way I could attempt this?? I am new to all of this and will have tons of questions. Thanks in advance.[/font]

Welcome...

Fantastic fans have a tip-up cover that is like a redflag on a minivan.

They do make a stealthier version called the EZ-Breeze. I have not used one but they dont have a tip-up cover, they lay flat even when operating.

It is also possible to have your AC/heater blower put on a bypass so that it can run on low speed (vent mode) even with the ignition off, but with all the electronics in todays vehicles I have no way of knowing if this would work on your particular vehicle.

Good luck!

So many vans have vent fans, that they do not draw attention.  

The E Breeze has bad reviews.  I would not buy one. 

Using the vehicle system will kill your starting battery.  They are not designed for constant use, but starting.

So there you have it.

180 degrees of opposite opinions on all three points.

Confused yet?

To clarify my statements:

A minivan has a lower roofline, so an open vent on the roof is at (or nearly at) eye level with pedestrians AND cops. Since stealth was mentioned, this is why I point this out.

I was not sure how well the EZ-Breeze works, as I alluded to.

And running ANY fan on the starting battery is not 'ideal', but I do it all the time.

:p

The O2Cool fans work pretty well, they can run on "D" batteries, or 12v.

Not as expensive, either.