I found a "free" inverter in my van!

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daleford

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I am new to this and I have a couple electrical questions. I just bought a used cargo van [2020 Transit Connect] It has a bunch of shelving in the back and hiding in a corner was a 1000 watt Vanner pure sinewave inverter. I felt like I won the lottery! Now I am trying to figiure out what it will run as far as electrical appliances. I have 1990 small 120 volt microwave I was praying I could use. It has 7.3 amps, so it has 876 Watts. Am I going to be able to use it?

Next question: I am going to look at a "dorm" size small 120 volt refrigerator tomorrow morning. I will figure the watts once I see it, but I am wondering usually what do these small fridges have for watts draw?

You would be pushing your inverter pretty hard, math is correct, should work. My 4.5 cf Danby Spec sheet says 1A, the meter on the inverter says 70W so somewhere between 115-70. We used to have a smaller one but we put so much stuff in it, it didn’t work correctly letting cold air to circulate between all the items. The 4.5 was a great improvement. The Danby was the only one I could find that was energy star rated. Found it on Amazon.

I put the little compact 700watt microwave I had on a kilowatt meter and it drew almost 1200 watts of AC. 700 watts is the smallest size microwaves I know of. Microwaves power ratings are funny that way. They pull more power than stated on the box advertising. It not the same technology as the electric coil heating elements such as found in electric skillets, griddles.