Hurricane Irma survivor is (finally!) escaping Miami and becoming a nomad

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

USMC_Winger

Reaction score
Hi, folks!

I joined this forum to meet new friends who are like-minded nomads who can give me some advice and guidance.  I'm buying a cargo trailer, and I intend to convert it into a camper so that I can live on the cheap while I get back on my feet financially.  While I already own many of the tools I need to do the conversion, I don't have a place to work on the trailer.  Any suggestions, advice, or help would be appreciated.

A little background:  I'm a disabled veteran from California who's been stranded in Miami for far too long.  I found myself unemployed, homeless, and broke after I experienced a series of mini strokes and some serious medical problems just before the category 5 hurricane smacked Florida in 2017.  My goal was to recover physically to earn and save up enough money to buy a small trailer/camper to live in and relocate to where the cost of living is much lower and the winters are mild, like Texas.  (I used to work in Houston, and I've driven across Texas numerous times, so I have some familiarity with the area and climate.)

While I was homeless last year, I found a low-paying job in the Miami area and worked as much overtime as my company would give me.  I've been saving every penny I could to reach my goal as quickly as possible.  Unfortunately, I recently lost my job and my apartment lease expires this month, so I'm about to become homeless again.