Hello! From a wannabe/soon-to-be traveling horsewoman

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stormpony

Reaction score
Hi there!

I'm so glad to be here.  I've been following videos and doing a lot of dreaming and planning, and finally I joined the forums (did not know there was one!  I used to be on forums constantly when I was a teenager and I thought that style of communicating had kind of faded away, and I'm thrilled to see that is NOT the case because I am quite comfortable with the format!).

I'm a 30 year old female (no kids, ever) who lives in NYC currently in a small apartment with a roommate, and after moving nearly 15 times in 12 years between 4 different states since I was 18 due to college (I have an illustration degree from SVA), job and financial reasons, I've come to realize that the stationary lifestyle is not for me.  Finally, I got more settled than I had been previously with a job that was my passion and actually made enough to cover my expenses: commercial carriage driving.  I am absolutely incurable for horses and I have my own small horse who I board here in Queens.  Not only do I love the animal itself, but I love the history of transportation and the migratory nature of them, and how they are so deeply tied with human culture.  I think in a past life, I must have been a Gypsy Traveler.  Or perhaps a Mongolian horse nomad.  I love to share horses and history with the public and commercial carriage driving is such a great way to do so.  Plus, it allows me to own a horse because they generate their money to offset some of their expenses.  Owning a horse is expensive (it probably costs a little less than having a child), but a sacrifice I'm very willing to make.  I would MUCH rather have a horse than a house!