Greetings All

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jake McCade

Reaction score
My name is Jake and I am currently residing in my parent's basement :confused:. That sounds bad but it gets worse. I am 53 years old and I have stage 4 cancer.

The chemo knocked the cancer back for the most part but it is forever there waiting. I just got accepted for disability insurance and my plan is to travel until the cancer takes me.

I have no savings left since the damn bills didn't stop when I was out of work so any suggestions on buying a vehicle? I would prefer a high-top van or sprinter type, but beggers cant be choosers ;)

I was a truck driver for 5 years living in my truck all but 2 weeks out of each year so living the van life will be second nature for me. With the $1500 disability each month I believe I can make a go of it.

We probably need to know a little more about your abilities which I would assume are limiting. I would probably start by spending some time outside to see if it is enjoyable for you. Living out of a vehicle requires you spend a lot of time outside. Maybe spend some time in the back yard or a weekend at a local camping area. Get a free National Parks Pass by claiming your disability at any entrance gate. Unlike driving a truck you need to develop a plan to do things you will enjoy doing while not moving and on $1500 a month and fuel/maintenance costs being what they are you will need to most likely limit your travel time and lengthen your stays to make this lifestyle work for you. The more you let us know the better the advice gets! Lol!!! Welcome to the site!

Thanks for the reply bullfrog.