Getting ready in NC

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zizzer_Zazzer_Zuz

Reaction score
Hi.

I grew up traveling summers in vans, pop-ups, and RV's.  I was a n honorary Camp Fire Girl (my mom ran the troop for my sister and her friends), I was a Cub Scout up to Boy Scout of some level other than Eagle that I don't remember.  In my late teens I did a lot of ... umm ... urban camping :).  Then later on I did a bunch of hitchhiking up and down the Eastern Seaboard.  I used to mountain bike, hike, climb mountains, back pack, and have all sorts of adventures.  

Now, I've spent the better part of 10 years sitting behind a desk for money and good health insurance and it's killing me.  I'm done.  I gotta get out.

I'm thinking that I will hire an agency rent out my house.  If it can pay for itself that would be awesome otherwise I may have to sell it.

I am a photographer, leather worker and blacksmith and I need to figure out a way to make those skills pay and they need to do it so I can do it all from the road.  I do of course have 20 years I.T. experience that should also make finding piece work or temp work easy enough if I have to.

I'm torn between a hitop van and a short bus.  I'm also considering a trailer for shop and tools. Having done Grateful Dead tour for several summers I've seen what you can do with a school bus but that just seems too much for me alone right now.  I fear it would also limit where I can go both in national parks and boondooking.