Future van/truck dweller

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kaylajazzmin

Reaction score
Hi guys, I've been watching tons of vanlife/camper life/nomad videos and have been so interested in it. I didn't think it was possible with kids but I've seen some builds where whole families traveled so that gave me some optimism. 

First of all, I'm a veteran and college switcher (lol) so I've lived a lot of places. I've been living in Ohio the past year because of financial constraints in the city/suburbs (philly/new jersey). I'm not very used to staying put. I also am a musician of 19 years so I always wanted to tour but never really could afford to.

Being a single mom, it's been tough on a fixed income with the may or may not get child support so I really love that this lifestyle can allow me to travel and save money. Me and my 5 and 7 year old already enjoy camping and stuff like that. We do the primitive version so this would be a major upgrade. 

I recently had to get rid of my old car since it would break down and therefore wasn't safe for my kids. Before kids I wouldn't have cared probably. I've been homeless, slept on random couches and even the college computer lab. Anyways, with some help from my aunt, I bought a 2019 Toyota tacoma off road in July. High payments, around my rent cost actually. More of you add insurance, but I didn't want to buy something that I would have to soon replace. 

With the help of youtube, and being a diy person anyway, I've been working on a fiberglass build for my truck. I have back problems as well as depression so its been rough sometimes finding the motivation but every time I watch more videos I get motivated again and start jotting stuff down that I want to do. My neighbors probably think I'm crazy at this point on top of my brand new truck but I have an end goal.