Fulltime RVer....next step is to let go of job!

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

free2enjoy

Reaction score
Hello new friends!    :)

I'm a new student of cheaprvliving and to Bob Wells, THANK YOU for your YouTube "university" and other resources on living as a nomad!  And THANK YOU to the nomad community for sharing all their wisdom through Bob and other outlets!  

A little about me (and I look forward to getting to know all of you)....

My name is Andrew, I'm 52, an airline pilot and entrepreneur, and currently living in my 5th wheel at a local campground and before that my motorhome.  I've been living in RV's alone for nearly 3 years and love the RV lifestyle.  I live near Miami, Florida.

Like many, I'm fed up with paying taxes on top of taxes, insurance on top of insurance, and all the ways a brick and mortar home is a money and time pit.  Every time another $1000+ repair expense appears, it's like a punch to the gut.  Modern life is so complex that who has the ability to really live?  

While obviously I do a lot of travelling in my job, I don't get to do a lot of exploring as the layovers aren't that long.  And from the panoramic view of the cockpit, I fly over territory that is beautiful to look at but I crave to live in it.

My favorite places to layover are the mountainous regions in central America and Colombia in part because the climate is so perfect!  The daytime temps are perfect and at night, it cools off for amazing sleeping!  My dream is to live in such a place but there's no chance of me moving to one of those countries.  In the USA, obviously we have the mountains but mostly at too high a latitude for year round comfort.