Fiberglass For Long Term Living

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

surferbeads

Reaction score
I've been browsing around this forum for about 2 years now and decided I would finally create a thread because I don't see very much information on fiberglass trailers.

Like many others here I have tried various camping setups I thought might work for long term camping. I've tried tents, vans, and now light weight fiberglass trailers.

I love tents. Nice canvas tents can make great shelters, but they didn't give me the security I wanted. It's to easy for animals and people to gain access to a tent. It's very unpleasant to learn someone stole your laptop or honda generator while you were out running errands in town.

Vans are great but for me I didn't like not being able to stand up straight. I was also concerned about being homeless for a week or so while a major repair was being done on the van.

My solution: I purchased a 1985 Companion egg shaped fiberglass trailer for $1400. It's very similar to Scamp, Casita, Burro, Uhaul, and Boler in shape. It weights about 1000 lbs and I can tow it with my 6 cyl minivan. My van typically gets 21 mpg and when pulling the trailer I've been getting 18 mpg. The inside of this little camper is about 6 ft wide, 10 ft long and over 6 ft tall in the center. I completely gutted the trailer and insulated it with reflectex. I use a Mr. Heater Portable Buddy for heat (always make sure to crack some windows, use a carbon monoxide detector and follow the manufactures instructions when using these heaters. YOU DO NOT WANT TO WAKE UP DEAD!) So far the temps have gotten as low as 10 degrees F and the camper stays a very comfortable 75 degree F with the buddy heater running. I'm pretty sure I can keep it comfortable even if the temps go below zero.

Why I choose fiberglass???