Fear - how do you handle?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
CA9F769C-D4AC-4467-906B-F01EDD92480A.jpeg
Hi all! I’m fairly new to this, and I can’t get past the fear of camping by myself (though I still go). I bring my pup, I’m in a Honda Element where I can jump to the drivers seat in a second, I bring my big dog, I have various safety tools and defensive weapons.

I’m just looking for some advice on how you all got past it? Is it just through practice? Do you have any specific techniques? Or do you just live with it?

Thanks!!

First step is to still go and work through the fear, know what that fear is and compensate.

Being prepared helps a lot because you will likely find that there was no need to worry in the end, yet you were prepared.

It takes time to get comfortable and confident. This only happens with experience.

I am generally not a fearful person. But i have concerns so I prepare.

Lets say I worry about something medical happening to me. Well i made a ridiculously well stocked paramedic bag:
eqjOBLHl.jpg

Or I worry about security sleeping alone. I may add motion lights, have a large knife, Bear spray, GPS phone, car alarm where i lock my self in... And you have the ultimate, a dog!

Fear, like anything else subsides with time and experience. Probably the safest place to be is the wilderness.

Was there a particular fear?

Welcome to the Forum!

Last edited:
I’m worried a person will attack