Contact lens

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Iggy

Reaction score
I've been using contact lens for thirty years and plan to continue doing so. But a couple things make it a bit more problematic now that I'm a vandweller. 1) I have to be more aware of cleaning my hands before handling them. When living in a house, I just washed my hands in the bathroom and then took them out or put them in. No problem. In my van, I have no sink and baby wipes or hand sanitizer don't do as good of a job as soap and water. I haven't figured out a good solution to this yet. I worry about eye infections. 2) Cold weather. Last night it was in the low twenties and I awoke to my contacts frozen in their case. Saline solution freezes at 28°F. I started the Lil Buddy to unfreeze them (and me) and the lens seem to be fine. I think next time I will put them under my pillow or in my underwear. :)
Anyone else have problems or solutions with contact lens?

I take it there's something keeping you from migrating to warmer weather. How about warming up a bottle of water, and then placing the warm bottle of water, the contact lens case, and the saline solution in a small cooler?

That's a good idea, Christine! Especially if I stay in a cold area for an extended period of time. I'm stuck in the Salem, Oregon area at least till Thanksgiving, maybe a little longer. Family concerns and having a hard time saying goodbye to a few women in my life. But soon hopefully I'll be in southern California for the winter. Then no more worries about frozen contacts.

sorry iggy but I had to chuckle about putting them "in my underwear". highdesertranger

Keeping them in a pocket would be ideal, assuming the case has a cap that won't come undone easily. I never really thought about my contacts freezing before but I'm sure my extras have done so many times and they don't seem to have been damaged.