Chinese diesel parking heater with Goal Zero Yeti 1400?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

country_roads

Reaction score
Fellow nomads,

I'm about to order a 3kw Chinese Diesel Heater to heat a Ford Transit van.
I would like to power this from my Goal Zero Yeti 1400 (GZY) mobile power station. Specs in the link.
I have watched so many installation videos for these heaters on YouTube, and I've also read many posts on the dedicated Chinese Heater Facebook group. However, I'm still confused about the electrical power connection setup.

:huh:
I have not found clear documentation about powering the GZY with this heater. The real issue is my own lack of electrical knowledge, so I am seeking advice and looking for step-by-step instructions. Keep in mind that I have ZERO electrical knowledge and experience. So for example, when someone says, "just crimp the wires" I'm not exactly sure how to do that, or I might guess and do it the wrong way. I'm willing to get in there and try things but I need really detailed instructions. Once I get this all figured out, I plan to share my own "Documentation for Dummies" to hopefully help others out!

My (limited) understanding so far is this:

There are various reports of how much "power" is needed to run the heater. It takes more power to start up (warm-up period) and to turn off than it does to "idle" (1-3 amps continuous) while it's running after the "warm-up" period. Reports online vary, I've seen people post that their heaters need 8-18 amps for start-up, so the general consensus is "20A to be safe." I'm using the smaller 3kw heater while most others use the 5kw, so I think my heater would use the lower range of amperage reported by others.