Calypso’s Ogygia .. the Odyssey of the P42

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Calypso

Reaction score
It was recommended that I start my own story tread … which feels a bit like doing a biography and I’ve never understood why anyone would read mine. 🤣. But I think i
l do this more for me (as suggested) for my own personal documentation. Which makes sense, I’m more apt to write to “others” than to my own diary.

So, if you’re reading this … welcome but realize this is just ramblings and babblings of my whirlwind mind. I am new to van conversion, and well automobile mechanic, so I may sound like a silly ding-—ling. I’m hard headed but soft skinned, so if you leave any comments I ask that you take that into consideration. If you can give advice or comments without being snarky, I would appreciated it.

Part of this is just me thinking through things, possibilities, learning. I may have over the top ideas and just wondering how to execute them only for the sake of figuring out if it’s possible, but then decide it’s too big or complicated. If someone tells me it can’t be done, or I shouldn’t do it … I tend to dig my heels in and defend my idea. If it’s something I want, I want to explore how it CAN be done not be told it’s a stupid idea. Maybe there’s another at around it and still reaching the same goal. In doing this I gain information, which then educates my decisions better. I may end up going “your way”, but I want to learn why mine may not be best practice, and the advantages of a better choice.

We all have different ideas, judgements, experience, priorities and situations. There are reasons for why I need something other than a composting toilet, or that I need 4‘ of desk space or that the sink needs to be to the left of me, or that I want to avoid having to use propane. Or whatever.