Box van and step van conversion only

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mjbarton74

Reaction score
I am super new to all of this van life stuff.
I have been building a van in my head for 20 years now and I have come to the conclusion I want box, or step van only.
I live in Las Vegas and own a small air conditioning business and want to live and work out of a van with my dog.
I am looking for builders and also possibly something done or an abandoned project.
GUIDE ME OH SWEET VAN LIFE PEOPLE!!!!!!!

Do it! Good luck! Both are great options for a build with their straight, flat walls.

Box van pros:
Quieter than step van
More common parts
Comfortable to drive

Box van cons:
Cab body is steel, will rust
Could be quite the leap to get into the rear
Most all are roll up doors
Many have fiberglass roofs

Step van pros:
All aluminum, won't rust
Easier to work on
Easy to get in and out of
Built to last forever

Step van cons:
Louder than loud
You will need to love the ride
While drivetrain/chassis parts are easy, special body parts can be hard to find

Do it! Good luck! Both are great options for a build with their straight, flat walls.

Box van pros:
Quieter than step van
More common parts
Comfortable to drive

Box van cons:
Cab body is steel, will rust
Could be quite the leap to get into the rear
Most all are roll up doors

Step van pros:
All aluminum, won't rust
Easier to work on
Easy to get in and out of
Built to last forever

Step van cons:
Louder than loud
You will need to love the ride
While drivetrain/chassis parts are easy, special body parts can be hard to find
I have been dreaming of this my whole life. I'm not worried about noise.
I need to find a good website to find them. Got any good sites to look at?