battery capacity issue

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

townline

Reaction score
I have a new 100amp agm battery duracell hooked up to a renogy 200 watt system.
 there is also a amp draw  moniter. From full charge at night say 12.75v, i use 1.0 amp
per hour for 10 hrs battery goes down to 12.1 volts.This is the 2nd battery i got from
batteries plus and actually seems better than the 1st one i returned. I am also letting
 the battery rest after turning off load to get accurate reading. duracell and batteries
plus are not helping me.

I'm not an expert but the state of charge chart I use on my small AGM system states that 13.0v is full charge 12.75 is 90%. It sounds like you're not reaching a full charge and your battery is being consistently under charged. What float voltage do you use on your charge controller?

As an example on my small system I have a $10 chinese charge controller. The displayed voltage when its low is off by about a tenth of a volt. At full charge it seems to be accurate so I set the voltage to 14.3v rather than 14.4v for a little insurance.

XERTYX said:
Was being conservative on stating12.75v The float is 14.4 and it goes there. I have .1 v discrepancy between my multi meter and amp meter.
The rover li 20 is at sealed setting and battery has never been over charge or drained.

Isnt AGM considered GEL not SLA (sealed lead acid) I looked at the specs on the renogy site. I want to say I have mine set as GEL. Maybe its using the wrong algorithm to charge it? Just spitballing.

The only other thing I can think of is when I built my first solar system years and years ago. I bid-sniped some 10w panels on ebay but could never seem to snag a charge controller.